STEELE'S DRIVING SCHOOL

(724) 834 - 6856 or steelesdrivingschool@comcast.net

Steele’s Driving School is located in lovely Greensburg, Pennsylvania.  You can contact us at (724) 834 - 6856 or steelesdrivingschool@comcast.net  Serving Greensburg, Latrobe, Jeannette, Hempfield Township, Harrison City, Irwin, Mt. Pleasant and the rest of central Westmoreland County for the past 24 years.

Driving in Pennsylvania
on a Class C Learners
Permit or Junior License.


JUNIORS LEARNER’S PERMIT INFORMATION

    
     After successfully completing a physical examination, vision screening and knowledge test,
young drivers may begin behind-the-wheel practice. Basic driving skills and safe habits are
developed under adult-supervised conditions. Requirements under the law include:

• Six months of learning: A six-month skill-building period to practice and gain experience is
required before a young driver may take the road test for a junior license.

* You must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age or a parent,
guardian,person in loco parentis or spouse who is at least 18 years of age and licensed with the
same or higher class vehicle that appears on your learner’s permit.

• 65 hours of adult-supervised skill building. Except for a motorcycle learners permit, this requirement includes no less than ten hours of nighttime driving and five (5) hours of bad
weather driving: A parent or guardian must certify (Parent or Guardian Certification Form
(DL-180C)) that the young driver’s six months of skill building included at least 65 hours of
practical, adult-supervised driving experience.

• Nighttime driving restriction begins at 11 p.m.: The young driver may not be behind the
wheel between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. Young drivers may travel for employment and
for volunteer or charitable service during these hours, but they must carry proper
documentation.

• Passenger limitation: The number of passengers must not exceed the number of seat belts in
the vehicle. This applies to all drivers under age 18.

• Learner’s permit valid for one year: The learner’s permit will be valid for one year with
extensions for those requiring more practice time.

• Required sanctions for high-risk drivers under age 18: A young driver’s permit will be
suspended for 90 days if he or she accumulates six or more points or is convicted of a single high-speed violation (driving 26 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit).

• Successful completion of a Pennsylvania motorcycle safety basic rider course is a requirement
for a young driver before a motorcycle license can be issued.

JUNIOR DRIVERS LICENSE INFORMATION

Young drivers who graduate to a junior license have satisfactorily completed all
learner’s permit requirements, including the road test, but the following restrictions
still apply:

• Required sanctions for high-risk drivers under age 18: A young driver’s junior
license will be suspended for 90 days if he or she accumulates six or more points or
is convicted of a single high speed violation (driving 26 miles per hour or more over the
posted speed limit).

• Nighttime driving restriction begins at 11 p.m.: Even with a junior license, a young
driver may not be behind the wheel between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. Exceptions
for employment and volunteer or charitable service will apply, but young drivers must
carry proper documentation regarding their need to travel.

• Passenger limitation: The number of passengers must not exceed the number of seat
belts in the vehicle. This applies to all drivers under age 18.
* You may not carry more than one (1) passenger under the age of 18 who is not an
immediate family member unless one (1) of your parents or guardians is in the vehicle
with you. After the first six (6) months of driving on a junior license, the limit is increased
to no more than three (3) passengers under the age of 18 who are not immediate family
members unless one (1) of your parents or guardians is in the vehicle with you. The
increased limit does not apply to any junior driver who has ever been involved in a crash
in which you were partially or fully responsible or who is convicted of any driving violation.